The world's clearing house for information on contemporary Asian affairs and policy-related issues. The project currently tracks over 3000 academic, government, and private-sector specialists on Asia making its findings available an online searchable database.
- Airiti Library
Airiti Library provides a comprehensive search function in : - Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (TEPS) - Chinese Electronic Periodical Services (CEPS ) - Chinese Electronic Theses and Dissertations Service (CETD) - Airiti eBooks (ABC). Interface only available in Chineese.
- Anthropological Index Online (AIO)
The Anthropological Index Online is the anthropological index to current anthropological periodicals in the Museum of Mankind Library (incorporating the former Royal Anthropological Institute library). The database is a regionally arranged subject and author index to periodicals received. Photocopies of articles indexed are available from the institute. New data is being added on a continuing basis and is available only online.
- Asahi Shinbun Kikuzo II Visual
Online newspaper database in Japan containing archives for Asahi shinbun (1945-2007) plus two weekly news magazines: Weekly Asahi och Aera. Asahi shimbun is one of the most important newspaper in Japan.
- Full Text Database from 1985 to the present
- Image Database of Post-WWⅡ Showa Period (1945-1989)
- Who's Who Database
- Historical Photo Archive
- Image Database of Pre-war Showa Period
- Image Database of Meiji and Taisho Era
To login click on "Enter(SSL)". Always logout after using the database as the number of simultaneous users is limited to 2 persons.
Please note all of the services will be temporarily suspended from 9am to 11am on 18th March (CET) due to the system maintenance.How to use Kikuzo II Visual
Upgraded with support from Japan Foundation
- Asia-Studies Full-text Online
Self-description: "Asia-Studies Full-Text Online is the premier database [est. 2004 - ed.] for the study of modern Asia-Pacific. As the exclusive licensee for the region's most prestigious research institutions, Asia-Studies.com brings together thousands of full-text reports covering 55 countries [and territories] on a multitude of business, government, economic, and social issues.
- Asia.pdf, book search engine search on sites, forums, message boards for pdf files.
PDF Search Engine is a book search engine search on sites, forums, message boards for pdf files. You can find and download a tons of e-books but please respect the publisher and the author for their creations if their books copyrighted.
- Asian Development Bank (ADB) - fulltext documents
ADB is a multilateral development finance institution established in 1966, its overarching goal is to reduce poverty in Asia and the Pacific. ADB engages in mostly public sector lending for development purposes in its developing member countries, it helps improve the quality of people’s lives by providing loans and technical assistance for a broad range of development activities. ADB’s clients are its member governments, who are also its shareholders. At present ADB have 63 members, both within and outside the Asian Pacific region.
You may download and print as many of these documents as you wish. ADB Depository library for Sweden is the Asia Library at Lund University, please contact Iréne Sandell for more information.
- Asian newspapers
Via PressDisplay's collection you can read a number of Asian newspapers and magazines on the day they are published. The archives have a maximum depth of two years.
- Asienhaus Bibliothek: Online-Recherche
Seit September 2003 bietet das Asienhaus neue und komfortablere Möglichkeiten der Online-Recherche im Titelkatalog des Bibliotheksbestandes. Ein Teil der Bibliotheksbestände - derzeit 26662 Dokumente - kann jetzt in einer einheitlichen Datenbank nach verschiedenen Kriterien durchsucht werden. Dieses Angebot besteht in deutscher und englischer Sprache. Links zu anderen relevanten Bibliotheken ergänzen das Angebot. Um zu den Abfragemasken zu kommen, klicken Sie die folgende Sprachoption an. Es öffnet sich dann das Fenster zu den Suchmasken.
- BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine)
BASE is a search engine especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
BASE provides more than 40 million documents from more than 2,400 sources. You can access the full texts of about 75% of the indexed documents.
- Business Monitor Online Asia Country Risk service
This service provides unparalleled coverage of country markets across Asia, featuring intra-daily news analysis; political and economic risk assessment; strategic views on currency and debt developments; systematic macroeconomic forecasts over a 5-year horizon; country-comparative risk ratings; Asia market research; analysis on Asia companies; Asia industry trends; and rigorous benchmarking of the business environment.
- Census of India
"The Indian Census is the largest single source of a variety of statistical information on different characteristics of the people of India. With a history of more than 130 years, this reliable, time tested exercise has been bringing out a veritable wealth of statistics every 10 years, beginning from 1872 when the first census was conducted in India non-synchronously in different parts. To scholars and researchers in demography, economics, anthropology, sociology, statistics and many other disciplines, the Indian Census has been a fascinating source of data. The rich diversity of the people of India is truly brought out by the decennial census which has become one of the tools to understand and study India."
- China Academic Journals (CAJ) & Century Journals Project (CJP)- CNKI
China Academic Journals Full-text Database (CAJ) & Century Journals Project (CJP) together provide access to full-text and full-image interdisciplinary Chinese journals from 1915 to present. The content available to NNC members is from 4 sections:
Education/General social science,
To be able to use all functions it is necessary to use Internet Explorer as browser.
As the number of concurrent users is limited, it is important to logout when finished using the database, in order not to block other users (or yourself) from logging in. The system automatically logs you out after c. 15 minutes on inactivity.
- China Articles on Demand - CAOD
China Articles On Demand (CAOD) is a document delivery service of China Document Delivery Center (CDDC). It provides access to 14 million full-text articles from China. Users can use credit cards to pay and download a full-text article in pdf. Features:
The largest collection of Chinese journals, dissertations, patents, and other resources, with government support
Fast response and affordable price, supported by local article tracing
Flexible delivery choices: instant online delivery, fax, air mail or courier
Discounts available for batch purchases
Timely download monitoring through monthly statistics reports
Easy to set up an institutional account allowing your patrons to use one account simul taneously to satisfy their demands for random Chinese documents
- China Statistical Database
Statistical database from the National Bureau of Statistics. The database includes national and regional economic and social statistics from China since the reform period, as well as important international statistical data since 2000. The database is divided into two parts : annual data and progressive data with annual data consisting of the annual economic and social development of statistical indicators data, while progressive data consists of quarterly and monthly macroeconomic statistical indicators data.
Optimized for Windows Explorer as browser.
- China Statistical Yearbooks,Chinese and English version - CNKI
The China statistical yearbooks with data from central, provincial and local level, all translated to English. Includes a data mining platform.
The database is available in both an English and a Chinese versions. The Chinese version is generally updated faster than the English version. For the Chinese version please click here
- CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online
CIAO was developed as a collaborative effort between the Columbia University libraries and Columbia University Press. It focuses on theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. CIAO also contains teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features like the analysis of a bin Laden recruitment tape with video.
- CiNii - Citation Information by National Institute of Informatics (Nii), Japan.
CiiNii incorporates a number of databases, providing search facilities for academic periodicals published by universities, academic societies etc, with citation links to 900,000 natural science records and fulltext access to 240.000 of the 9.6 million records in CiiNii .
- CiNii Books
CiNii is a national union database for Japanese academic libraries.
- City University of Hong Kong Institutional Repository
CityU Institutional Repository provides full-text access to articles, working papers, preprints, technical reports, conference papers and data sets in various digital formats. The repository is browsable and searchable by various categories.
- DACHS - Digital Archive for Chinese Studies
Your Chinese Internet Time-Machine.
The DACHS website Writes Our aim is archiving and making accessible Internet resouces relevant for Chinese Studies, with special emphasis given on social and political discourse as reflected by articulations on the Chinese Internet. Contact DACH for individual login.
- Directory of Open Access Repositories. Asian Repositories
- DOAJ - the Directory of Open Access Journals
The Directory of Open Access Journals covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Many journals are searchable at article level. The aim is to cover all subjects and languages.
- e-Asia Digital Library
The e-Asia project is funded by the University of Oregon Library through the generosity of Nissho Iwai. By building a collection of digitized e-books and a database of full text web resources, e-Asia strives to contribute to the research and scholarship of East Asia. While the e-Asia project is based largely on resources held at the University of Oregon Library, its purpose is neither to duplicate nor displace printed traditonal materials. Rather, by providing searchable full text, the digitalization efforts of e-Asia represent a new tool aimed at facilitating the information- gathering process. e-Asia has no library hours because it is available 24 hours a day on the web; there is no waiting in line at the circulation desk, and there is no check-out period for e-Asia books; the books that you download become, in effect, your books.
- e-Korean Studies
E-Korean Studies provides access to these databases which can also be accessed individually via the links which can be found by clicking the information (i) icon.
Please note that E-Korean Studies databases are ONLY available at the institutions participating in the Korean offer, i e NIAS, Copenhagen University, Helsinki University and Stockholm University.
Provided with support from Korea Foundation
Eldis is an online information service providing free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues.
Eldis includes over 30,000 summaries and links to free full-text research and policy documents from over 8,000 publishers. Each document is editorially selected by members of our team.
The documents are organised into collections according to key development themes and the country or region they relate to. You can browse these on the website or find out about our subscribe options to get updates in a format that suits you.
- EVOCS - European Virtual OPAC for Chinese Studies
Use EVOCS to simultaneously search the holdings of major Sinological libraries in Europe.
- Excerpta Indonesica
This catalogue contains abstracts in English of periodical articles and chapters in books on Indonesia in the fields of the social sciences and humanities published in the period 1968-2008. Titles may be downloaded to your e-mail address using the option "Save info" NB: The default entry is search by "all words". This option includes fields like author, title words and keywords from the KITLV thesaurus. If you want to search by the complete compound keyword, use the search entry "Keywords KITLV Thesaurus". Using "Advanced" you can limit your search to type and year of publication, language and country. For more information about search options and search results use the help file at the top.
- FIRST (Facts on International Relations and Security Trends)
Select a country and match it against one (or more) of the categories - categories include Military expenditure, Multilateral peace missions, Nuclear missile programs, Disarmament agreements, etc
- Hong Kong University Thesis Online
The Hong Kong University Theses Collection holds 16,787 titles of theses and dissertations submitted for higher degrees to the University of Hong Kong since 1941. The first recorded thesis was dated 1928, though all theses prior to 1941 were lost during the occupation of WWII. HKUTO includes works in the arts, humanities, education and the social, medical and natural sciences. Many of them deal entirely with or focus on subjects relating to Hong Kong. The collection is primarily in English, with some in English and Chinese, and others in Chinese only. Almost all HKU theses are included in HKUTO. Missing ones might be located in HKU departmental libraries. HKUTO now includes 14,831 fulltext electronic theses.
- Indonesian Census data website
A population census has been conducted every decade between 1961 and 2000. This is a key source of data for planning purposes and setting the framework for sample surveys conducted over the intercensal period. The 2000 Census was especially important because it was a complete count rather than a sample census, as had been the case from 1961-1990, it gave a picture of the country`s situation at the end of the 1997-1999 economic crisis.
Combines the UnCover, ingenta and CatchWord databases and offers search and browse fascilities for over 25,000 publications within a wide range of disciplines. Linked to 4,500 electronic full-text articles, together with other articles deliverable by fax or Ariel fax, available for payment.
- International Monetary Fund, IMF - Country Information
The IMF Country Page provides country-specific information for over 180 countries, including Press Releases, Letters of Intent and IMF disbursements and country repayments.
The International Monetary Fund (IMF) was created in 1945 to help promote the health of the world economy. Headquartered in Washington DC, it is governed by and accountable to the governments of the 184 countries that make up its near-global membership.
- JAIRO - Japanese Institutional Repositories Online
An electronic full-text archive of the intellectual outputs from Japanese universities and colleges. Resources include books, journal articles, theses or dissertations, departmental bulletin papers, presentations, learning material, research papers and conference papers. As of its service launch date 22 October 2008, JAIRO contains 540,000 contents from 84 institutional repositories in Japan.
- Japan Center for Asian Historical Records
JACAR is a digital database testifying to Japan's historical relations in Asia as well as elsewhere. This site provides access to official documents—dating from the Meiji era through 1945—of the Japanese Cabinet, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, as well as the Army and Navy. In an effort to share history as it has been documented, JACAR's archives showcase the original records, including full images of the documents, all in digitized form, on an unprecedented scale.
Fully searchable and browsable databases including English-Japanese and Japanese-English dictionaries, Encyclopedia Nipponica and Encyclopdeia of Japan, articles published in a weekly magazine Ekonomisuto, collection of Tōyō bunko series and other visual and sound databases. Also includes Jitsu - online kanji dictionary/reference tool for the meaning of the Chinese charactersJapanKnowledge adapted for mobile phones
For guides on how to use the database please look under the information (i) icon.
Upgraded with support from Japan Foundation
- Kansai-kan of the National Diet Library Asian Resources Room: Japanese
The National Diet Library (NDL) is the only national library in Japan. It was established in 1948 by the National Diet Library Law, based on Article 130 of the National Diet Law, "The National Diet Library shall be established in the Diet by a separate law, in order to assist Diet Members in their study and research". The law declares the ideal of the library's establishment in its preamble: The National Diet Library is hereby established as a result of the firm conviction that truth makes us free and with the object of contributing to international peace and the democratization of Japan as promised in our Constitution.
- Korean Studies Information Service System (KISS)
A search engine for academic journals in Korea, Koreanstudies Information Service System (KISS) is a full-text database of Korean academic journals. KISS provides search functions with full bibliographical information (titles, author, publisher, year, note, and abstract) and the capability to search various indexes (journal, publisher, and subject).
Please note: Only NNC institutions participating in the Korea offer have access!
TMA, acronym for Institute of the Malay World and Civilization, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM), promotes multi-disciplinary research on the Malay world. To-date, writings, published and unpublished, on Malay World Studies are scattered in various forms and under a number of different fields of studies and disciplines. As the corpus of such knowledge increases and becomes more varied, one major challenge is to provide a fast and efficient information retrieval system to fulfill the needs and requirements of researchers and scholars in Malay World Studies. This portal is set up to broaden and deepen research on the Malay world studies.
MarketLine is a leading provider of quality information on companies, industries and countries. We offer a comprehensive and unique collection of information in a variety of user-friendly formats, including interactive reports and databases. Compiled by our global research team, these products are ideal for helping you build a thorough understanding of markets, whether you’re researching for qualifications, jobs or business.
- Museum of Far Eastern Antiquities, Library catalogue
The Library of the Museum of Far Eastern Antiquiteis in Stockholm is open researchers, students and the public two afternoons per week.
The collection is focused on East Asian art, culture and archeology. The collection contains books in Western languages and Chinese, Japanese and Korean.
Books can only be used in the reading room of the library.
- National Central Library Gazette Online (Taiwan)
The Government Gazette as a collection of major national decrees & regulations. Its purpose is to archive original military & political measures, acts & proclamations, personnel assignments & removals, minutes of meetings, etc. that are of value to researchers of modern history. Since 1984, National Central Library has been indexing 19 major gazettes of central and local governments, including proclamations, regulations & laws, orders, notices, treaties, etc. in an online searchable database . National Central Library Gazette Online (NCLGO) contains over 60 gazettes published since 1912, of which 18 gazettes from ministries and commissions under the Executive Yuan have been integrated into Executive Yuan Gazette since January 2005. NCLGO helps users effectively obtain acts, regulations, and policies proclaimed by the government, and aids in the publicizing and prevalence of government information.
- National Palace Museum Online (NPM)
National Palace Museum, Taiwan, holds one of the most famous collections of ancient Chinese artefacts and artworks. The database provides access high resolution images and information on the items.
- National Palace Museum Periodical (NPMtext)
NPMtext provides access to the publications of the National Palace Museum.
- Naver News Library
provides a digital archive service for articles published between 1920 and 1999 from three major Korean newspapers as below.
Tonga ilbo 東亞日報 = Dong-A ilbo : 1920-1999
Hankyoreh Newspaper : 1988-
Kyŏnghyang sinmun 京鄕新聞 = Kyunghyang Shinmun : 1946-1999
Maeil kyŏngje sinmun 每日經濟新聞 = Maeil Business Newspaper : 1966-1999
Includes advanced search facilities.
- Nikkei Telecom21 (Newspaper and databases)
Nikkei Telecom21 is a group of comprehensive business database services. The service consists of: News: Real-Time Nikkei newswire service (Japanese and English) Full Text Article Search: Nikkei’s 4 main newspapers and news (Japanese and English) Market & Economic Indicators: Stock Indices, exchange rates, bond pricing and other economic indicators (Japanese) Company Search: Company profiles and financial information (Japanese) Who’s Who Search: Personnel information in business (Japanese)
Please note: Nikkei Telecom21 will be unavailable 14 April 2013, 17.30-21.00 (UK Time).
- OGEA - Online Guide East Asia
OGEA provides access to electronic resources on East Asia on a large number of subjects. These free internet resources are annotated, classified and made searchable/browsable.
- OLC-SSG Asia and Northafrica - Online Contents-Special Subject Collection
The database Online Contents - SSG Asia and North Africa is a selection of bibliographic data from the Swets database Online Contents which is enhanced regularly by additional data provided by the participating libraries. Currently about 554 journals are being indexed back to the publication year 1993. A list with all integrated serials you can find here: List of journals for SSG Asia and Northafrica. Thus the database contains approximately 357,923 records of journal articles. and reviews. The database is updated weekly.
- Open Access Theses and Dissertations
OATD is a resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 600 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes over 1.5 million theses and dissertations.
- Open Index Initiative: search engine for Indian social science literature
The Open Index Initiative is maintained by staff of the Indira Gandhi Institute of Development Research Library. It provides free access to a searchable database of bibliographic references to social science literature and resources held in major Indian research Libraries. It includes references to journal articles, conference papers, working papers, research reports and theses. Most articles are taken from English language titles such as the Economic and Political Weekly. Articles date from the early 1990s onwards. Entries include titles but not the full text. Topics covered include Indian history, politics and economics. There is also coverage of anthropology, development studies, the politics of Gandhi, nuclear weapons policy, relations between India and Pakistan and the political situation in Kashmir.The site also has a union list of key social science and management journals held in Indian universities.
- Renmin ribao (People's Daily)
Fulltext-database with access to the Renmin Ribao (People's Daily) from 1946-
- SEAsite: Southeast Asia Picture Database
Photos on many subjects from Southeast Asian countries
- SocioEconomic Research Portal for the Philippines
SERP-P or SocioEconomic Research Portal for the Philippines is an online electronic database of completed, ongoing and pipeline research studies related to economic development and policymaking in the Philippines. It links various socioeconomic studies implemented by various research institutions such as the Philippine Institute for Development Studies (PIDS), government agencies and the academe. At present, only PIDS studies and selected studies of a few universities and research institutions are contained in the SERP-P.But the database will be regularly updated to include the studies of other institutions.All pertinent data from abstracts, authors, focus of study, geographical coverage, and availability can be found in the SERP-P. Most of all, researchers can leaf through some of the studies' full text.
- South and South East Asian Art and Archaeology Index
The ABIA Project The ABIA project is a global network of scholars co-operating on an annotated bibliographic database for publishers covering South and Southeast Asian art and archaeology. The project was launched in 1997 at the initiative of the International Institute for Asian Studies in Leiden, the Netherlands, in colloaboration with international scholars and Asian academic institutes. The project receives scientific support from UNESCO.
- South and Southeast Asia Video Archive
Video technology has altered the way people view themselves, their nations, and the world in general. It has long been recognized as a powerful cultural force in Western countires, but the rapid expansion of this technology to the rest of the world has largely gone unrecognized. Every country has television broadcasting capability, and the number of television sets steadily increases, even in the most impoverished countries of the "third world." Television viewing is not just a middle and upper class phenomenon in these societies. Indeed, probably the most notable change in village life in South and Southeast Asia over the past decades has been the introduction of video technology. The video cassette recorder/player has added a new dimension to mass media consumption patterns, permitting more frequent and convenient access to video programming which is not directly mediated by government agencies.
- Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (TEPS)
Contains full-text articles from more than 900 Taiwan periodicals of different subject, mainly since 1991. English interface. Access to TEPS is partly financed by funding from the Chiang Chingkuo Foundation.
- The Asian Law Centre bibliographic database
The Asian Law Centre bibliographic database is offered to the public as a service to assist students and scholars of Asian legal systems.
- The World and Japan database project
"The World and Japan" database project consists of four under construction databases funded by grants-in-aid from Japan's Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science, and Technology (Monbukagakusho) and Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (Nihongakujutsushinkoukai).
- University of California eScholarship Editions
The eScholarship Editions collection includes the full text of more than 1,400 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction.
Access to the electronic books is free for all University of California faculty, staff, and students, while select books are available for free to the public. Print versions of many of the electronic books can be purchased directly from the publishers. The eScholarship Editions project is managed by the eScholarship program at the California Digital Library.
- University of California eScholarship Repository
The University of California eScholarship Repository is a central location for faculty to deposit any research or scholarly output that is deemed appropriate by the participating University of California research unit, center, or department. The research and scholarship can be browsed by: campus ; research unit, center or department ; journals and peer-reviewed series ; seminar series. All eScholarship Repository content may be browsed and downloaded at no cost and with no access restrictions.
The repository, sponsored by the California Digital Library, provides persistent access and makes the content easily discoverable. It is a project of the eScholarship initiative of the California Digital Library within the University of California Office of the President. eScholarship, whose mission is to facilitate and support scholar-led innovations in scholarly communication, is providing this and other services in response to an expressed need for alternative publishing mechanism
- World Affairs Online (Internationale Bezeihungen und Ländekunde)
includes material from a wide range of sources on international relations and area studies. International politics, international conflicts, international organisations, international security, defence and domestic security, arms control, national and international economics, foreign policy, national political systems, societal development, environmental policy, structural domestic problems. Both current events and historical reviews are presented. Articles are selected from about 1,000 international journals, and books, reports and government publications from around the world are also included. About 50% of WAOL's sources are in English, 30% in German, 8% in French and 12% in other languages
- World Bank: Documents & Reports
The World Bank: Documents & Reports, previously known as World Development Sources (WDS), contains more than 14,000 World Bank documents which are made available to the public in order to better share the institution's knowledge base and to implement the disclosure policy. Browsing or searching provides access to the documents in both text and downloadable .pdf format. Paper copies can be ordered from the InfoShop. Most documents are also available in depository libraries around the world (in Sweden: Uppsala - The Dag Hammarskjöld Library).
The types of documents you will find include:
Country Economic & Sector Work: These provide in-depth background, strategic priorities, and direction for lending activities.
Project Documents: When a loan is made, various documents are released to the public according to the stage in the project cycle.
Research & Working Papers: Various working papers & informal series are provided here from departments around the Ban
- World Development Indicators Database
High quality national and international statistics, and global statistical programs
- World News Connection (WNC)
World News Connection (WNC) offers an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources from around the world, WNC provides users with the power to identify what really is happening in a specific country or region. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, the information in WNC covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Updated each U.S. government work day, the WNC file contains data back to 1995.
- Yomidasu Rekishikan
Yomidasu Rekishikan is a Japanese newspaper database which includes more than 10 million articles from the newspaper Yomiuri Shinbun since the start of publication in 1874.
It also contains a Contemporary Who's reference tool as well as a Glossary and Reference Handbook for users.
Available through support from Japan Foundation